Connect with us

AC Milan

2023 Ballon d’Or nominees: Messi, Haaland & Mbappe headline 30-man shortlist

France Football Magazine has unveiled its 30-man shortlist for the 2023 Ballon d’Or award, with 15 players receiving their inaugural nomination.

Despite already boasting a glittering collection of seven Ballon d’Or awards, Lionel Messi will be aiming to extend his remarkable record even further despite a topsy-turvy 2022/23 campaign.

The 36-year-old endured a stuttering second half of last season, but his iconic World Cup triumph could likely be enough to earn him yet another Golden Ball. 

Messi led Argentina to their first World Cup title in nearly four decades, contributing seven goals, including two in the final, and took home the Player of the Tournament award.

He is the odds-on favourite to claim the 2023 Balon d’Or award ahead of Erling Braut Haaland, although it is poised to be a tight race with the Manchester City goal machine.

The 23-year-old smashed a handful of long-standing records in his debut Premier League campaign, scoring 36 times in the English top flight with an additional 12 goals in the Champions League.

Haaland was undoubtedly the inspiration for Man City’s treble-winning campaign last term and will fancy his chances of ousting Messi in this year’s Balon d’Or race.

Kylian Mbappe is also expected to be in the mix following a stellar season in France, where he finished as the Ligue 1 top scorer with 29 goals. 

He also amassed over 50 goals for club and country and won the Golden Boot award at the World Cup, capping his exceptional performances off with a hat-trick in the final.

The 30 nominees for the 2023 Ballon d’Or Award are:

  1. Josko Gvardiol (Manchester City, Croatia)
  2. Jamal Musiala (Bayern Munich, Germany)
  3. Andre Onana (Manchester United, Cameroon)
  4. Karim Benzema (Al Ittihad, France)
  5. Mohamed Salah (Liverpool, Egypt)
  6. Bukayo Saka (Arsenal, England)
  7. Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City, Belgium)
  8. Jude Bellingham (Real Madrid, England)
  9. Randal Kolo Muani (Paris Saint-Germain, France)
  10. Bernardo Silva (Manchester City, Portugal)
  11. Khvicha Kvaratskhelia (Napoli, Georgia)
  12. Nicolo Barella (Inter Milan, Italy)
  13. Emiliano Martinez (Aston Villa, Argentina)
  14. Ruben Dias (Manchester City, Portugal)
  15. Erling Braut Haaland (Manchester City, Norway)
  16. Martin Odegaard (Arsenal, Norway)
  17. Ilkay Gundogan (Barcelona, Germany)
  18. Yassine Bono (Al Hilal, Morocco)
  19. Julian Alvarez (Manchester City, Argentina)
  20. Vinicius Junior (Real Madrid, Brazil)
  21. Rodri (Manchester City, Spain)
  22. Antoine Griezmann (Atletico Madrid, France)
  23. Lionel Messi (Inter Miami, Argentina)
  24. Lautaro Martinez (Inter Milan, Argentina)
  25. Robert Lewandowski (Barcelona, Poland)
  26. Kim Min-jae (Bayern Munich, South Korea)
  27. Luka Modric (Real Madrid, Croatia)
  28. Kylian Mbappe (Paris Saint-Germain, France)
  29. Victor Osimhen (Napoli, Nigeria)
  30. Harry Kane (Bayern Munich, England)

The ten nominees for the 2023 Kopa Trophy are:

  1. Alejandro Balde (Barcelona, Spain)
  2. Jude Bellingham (Real Madrid, Spain)
  3. Eduardo Camavinga (Real Madrid, France)
  4. Gavi (Barcelona, Spain)
  5. Rasmus Hojlund (Manchester United, Denmark)
  6. Jamal Musiala (Bayern Munich, Germany)
  7. Pedri (Barcelona, Spain)
  8. Antonio Silva (Benfica, Portugal)
  9. Xavi Simons (Paris Saint-Germain, Netherlands)
  10. Elye Wahi (Lens, France)

The ten nominees for the 2023 Yachine Trophy are:

  1. Yassine Bono (Al Hilal, Morocco)
  2. Thibaut Courtois (Real Madrid, Belgium)
  3. Ederson (Manchester City, Brazil)
  4. Dominik Livakovic (Fenerbahce, Croatia)
  5. Mike Maignan (AC Milan, France)
  6. Emiliano Martinez (Aston Villa, Argentina)
  7. Andre Onana (Manchester United, Cameroon)
  8. Aaron Ramsdale (Arsenal, England)
  9. Brice Samba (Lens, France)
  10. Marc-Andre ter Stegen (Barcelona, Germany)

When will the winner be announced?

The Ballon d’Or 2023 ceremony will be held at the Theatre du Chatelet in Paris on October 30, where the winner of football’s most coveted individual prize will be announced, alongside the Kopa Trophy and Yachine Trophy winners.

More in AC Milan